What to do on the shoulder seasons?

So summer in Canada is pretty easy to stay active – hiking, biking, lying in the sun… I mean… hiking..…

Even in winter, with the right inducement in the form of a beautiful bluebird powder day, I am happy to venture outdoors. But the shoulder seasons? Those cold.. windy… wet spring days? It’s much more difficult to convince yourself to push through the pain barrier.

So what is a future badass (apprentice badass, badass-in-training, student of awesome skills, etc.) to do?

My answer would have to be rock climbing… the best indoor sport for causing pure terror! I also like rock climbing because it is one of the few sports where different skill levels don’t reeeallly matter. You climb at your level, your friend climbs at theirs. In fact, if you are exhausted, you offer to belay your sporty friend for a few extra climbs up that (godawful) wall… you are immediately appear to be an awesome person!

Bouldering is also a great way to go rock climbing by yourself, because I don’t know about you…. But sometimes I just hate people.

Also, I like rock climbing when the rock climbers walk around with their shirts off.

In short, you know where to find me this Spring!

P.S

I have included some inspiration to this blog… in the form of a tiny climbing prodigy.

P.P.S

Also, even if you aren’t so sold on rock climbing as a way to spend your time, I highly recommend the following movie – a fascinating look at the climbing counter culture of the 60s, and the race up the iconic cliffs of Yellowstone Park, with awesome 60s fashion and great production values.

One thought on “What to do on the shoulder seasons?

  1. katieexpatriated says:

    I love ski resorts in the shoulder seasons. They’re so cheap and empty! You can enjoy the outdoorsy stuff that weather permits or go for drives, go shopping, eat out, use the hot tub, etc. Last May we went to Fernie and we spent one of the nights in our room watching Sean of the Dead on tv! It was great!

    Like

Leave a comment